The European Commission Publishes Consultation on the Review of the AIFMD

Published 27 October 2020

PrintCategory: AIFs

On 22 October 2020, the European Commission published its consultation on the review of the AIFMD seeking the views from stakeholders on how to achieve a more effective and efficient functioning of the European AIF market.

The consultation is a follow-up on the European Commission’s report to the European Parliament and the Council on the scope and the application of the AIFMD.

The consultation covers a wide range of areas, including questions related to:

  • the functioning of the AIFMD regulatory framework, scope and authorization requirements
  • investor protection, covering issues such as investor classification, adequacy of disclosure requirements, the depositary regime and potential improvements to the AIFMD rules on valuation
  • international relations and how best to achieve equitable treatment of non-EU AIFs while at the same time ensuring that EU AIFMs are not exposed to unfair competition
  • financial stability and how to ensure that national competent authorities and AIFMs have the tools necessary to effectively mitigate systemic risks
  • potential enhancement of the rules on investment in private companies
  • how the alternative investment sector can participate effectively in the areas of responsible investing
  • the treatment of UCITS

What’s next: The public consultation is open until 29 January 2021 and can be assessed here.

Tags:  AIFMDAIFMD review


Also tagged ‘AIFMD’

4 Nov 2020AIFsUpdates

New Requirements to Marketing of Non-EU AIFS in Denmark

EU and non-EU AIFMs submitting an application for marketing of non-EU AIFs to professional investors in Denmark will be subject to new requirements. The Danish FSA has issued a new Executive Order, which enters into force on 1 January 2021.

AIFMD
27 Oct 2020AIFsUpdates

Consultation on EU Rules for Long-Term Investment Funds

On 19 October 2020, the European Commission launched a public consultation on the European Long Term Investment Fund (“ELTIF”) legal framework.

AIFMDAIFMD review
12 Oct 2020Financial RegulationImpact and ESG

EU Commission Completes Consultation on EU Green Bond Standard

The Commission has completed a public consultation on the proposal for a EU Green Bond Standard. The consultation proposes to use the EU Taxonomy to define green bonds.

AIFMDSustainability
4 Sep 2020AIFs

ESMA Publishes Letter to the European Commission on the AIFMD Review

On 19 August 2020, ESMA published a letter to the Commission, outlining areas it should consider during the forthcoming review of the AIFMD.

AIFMDAIFMD reviewESMA
26 May 2020AIFsImpact and ESG

ESA Consults on Fund Managers’ ESG Disclosure Obligations

The European Supervisory Authorities (ESA) has published draft technical standards setting out detailed rules on i.a. fund managers’ obligations under the ESG Disclosure Regulation.

AIFMDComplianceDisclosure RequirementsSustainability
23 Aug 2019AIFsArticlesEuVECA

Pre-marketing of AIFs and EuVECA Funds

Following the recent amendments to the AIFM Directive (“AIFMD”) and the EuVECA Regulation, this article discusses the new rules on pre-marketing covering both AIF and EuVECA Funds.

AIFMDCross-BorderPre-Marketing
4 Jul 2019Financial Regulation

The EU Technical Expert Group on Sustainable Finance publishes their Taxonomy Technical Report

The report is part of the EU Commission’s overall effort to create a unified standard for sustainable economic activities in the European Union, which is expected to significantly impact the private equity and venture capital industry.

AIFMDDisclosure RequirementsGovernanceMarketing
21 Jun 2019AIFsEuVECA

New Directive to Amend AIFMD has been Adopted

On 14 June 2019 the Council adopted the new directive amending i.a. the Alternative Investment Fund Managers Directive (AIFMD).

AIFMDCross-BorderMarketingPre-MarketingRetail InvestorsVenture Capital
23 May 2019AIFs

EU Parliament Approves Final Compromise to Amend AIFMD

Highlights include a definition of pre-marketing, rules on de-notification in countries with no investor interests and rules on facilities made available to retail investors.

AIFMDCross-BorderMarketingPre-MarketingRetail Investors
30 Apr 2019Financial Regulation

ESMA Submits Report on Sustainability Risks and Factors in the AIFMD and UCITS Directive

On 30 April 2019, the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) published its final report on integrating sustainability risks and factors relating to environmental, social and good governance considerations in the AIFMD and UCITS Directive.

AIFMDESMAGovernanceRegulatory Technical StandardsRisk ManagementSustainability
16 Apr 2019AIFsArticlesEuVECA

Cross-Border Distribution of Collective Investments Undertakings

On 16 April 2019, the European Parliament adopted the European Commission's initiatives to improve the efficiency of cross-border distribution of Alternative Investment Funds (AIFs) and EuVECA funds by increasing transparency and harmonising diverging national rules.

AIFMDCross-BorderMarketingPre-MarketingRetail InvestorsVenture Capital
10 Jan 2019AIFs

Commision Releases Report on the Operation of AIFMD

The report confirms that AIFMD has significantly contributed to creating a market for alternative investment funds by establishing a harmonised regulatory and supervisory framework.

AIFMDAIFMD review

Other updates

6 Nov 2020Taxation / VATUpdates

Ruling on Taxation of SAFE

On 23 October 2020, the Danish Tax Agency published a ruling from the Danish National Tax Board regarding taxation of a SAFE (Simple Agreement for Future Equity) issuable by a US company.

Cross-BorderVenture Capital
4 Nov 2020AIFsUpdates

New Requirements to Marketing of Non-EU AIFS in Denmark

EU and non-EU AIFMs submitting an application for marketing of non-EU AIFs to professional investors in Denmark will be subject to new requirements. The Danish FSA has issued a new Executive Order, which enters into force on 1 January 2021.

AIFMD
27 Oct 2020AIFsUpdates

Consultation on EU Rules for Long-Term Investment Funds

On 19 October 2020, the European Commission launched a public consultation on the European Long Term Investment Fund (“ELTIF”) legal framework.

AIFMDAIFMD review
12 Oct 2020Financial RegulationImpact and ESG

EU Commission Completes Consultation on EU Green Bond Standard

The Commission has completed a public consultation on the proposal for a EU Green Bond Standard. The consultation proposes to use the EU Taxonomy to define green bonds.

AIFMDSustainability
25 Sep 2020Taxation / VAT

Rules Concerning the Tax Treatment of Equity Compensation to Employees in Startups

On 21 August 2020, the Danish Ministry of Taxation published for consultation a draft proposal according to which previously adopted amendments to the Danish Tax Assessment Act concerning the tax treatment of equity compensation to employees in “start-ups” will enter into force on 1 January 2021.

Danish RegulationVenture Capital
4 Sep 2020AIFs

ESMA Publishes Letter to the European Commission on the AIFMD Review

On 19 August 2020, ESMA published a letter to the Commission, outlining areas it should consider during the forthcoming review of the AIFMD.

AIFMDAIFMD reviewESMA